9th & Broadway Bench Fountain

9th Broadway 004
Location:  West 9th Street and Broadway Boulevard, Kansas City, MO

Found:  September 21, 2014

Actually found by fellow fountain hunter Alexis Bechtold and she asked me if I knew anything about it.  Despite driving by it numerous times when I was based out of my employer’s downtown office for a few months, I never noticed it until she mentioned it to me.

At street level there is a semi-circular bench under some trees.  The fountains are behind it.  They empty into a pool behind the bench and then that pool empties through the animal’s (I think it’s a lion) head down into a lower pool, which is also located behind a bench.  I believe these areas are meant as rest areas for workers in the building judging by the No Smoking signs present.  If I ever find out if this has a name, I will change the name of this post.

The sculpture “The Descent of Civilization aka Bison Memorial” is just outside the tree covered bench at street level.

9th Broadway 001 9th Broadway 002 9th Broadway 003 9th Broadway 005 9th Broadway 006 9th Broadway 007 9th Broadway 009 9th Broadway 008

 

Posted on September 22, 2014, in 9th & Broadway Bench Fountain and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

